Second Chances SA Patron & Justice Advocate

Left to Right: John Doyle AC, QC (Patron) and Lynn Arnold AO, FAICD (Justice Advocate)


John Doyle AC, QC

As Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Australia, head of the State’s judiciary for 17 years, John Doyle has won the respect of South Australians from many walks of life.

At his farewell in June 2012 he was critical of the government’s push for increased maximum jail terms. “Increasing punishment is not a solution to the social problem of crime. There is a need for more programs in prison and for persons released on parole,” he said.

Justice Advocate

Lynn Arnold AO, FAICD

Dr Lynn Arnold is a former SA Premier and past CEO of large agencies such as World Vision Australia and Anglicare SA spanning 15 years, and is also ordained as Anglican Deacon and later Priest by the Archbishop of Adelaide.

Lynn is a tireless ambassador for social justice: he has worked for justice for the poor, the girl child, and for children and women’s rights and now highlights the role of faith in the community and advocates for the restoration of prisoners into society.

Understanding that many prisoners are disconnected from family and community, which inevitably leads them back into crime, Lynn wants to help educate the community, individuals and churches as to how they can be part of the restorative justice solution.

Second Chances SA Chief Executive & Ambassador

Left to Right: Helen Glanville (Chief Executive) and Henry Olonga (Ambassador)

Chief Executive

Helen Glanville

Helen Glanville has over 20 years experience working in prison advocacy including nine years as Executive Director of Prison Fellowship in South Australia. She has volunteered tirelessly before taking a paid position and dedicated her life to campaigning for second chances.

With a background in nursing, local government and defence PR, and holding a Master of Business Administration, Helen, along with her husband Geoff Glanville, have built an organisation that has 125 volunteers and 8 paid staff.

Helen has a passion for prison reform and to raise awareness about the plight of children of prisoners.


Henry Olonga

Henry Olonga was born in Zambia in 1976 to a Kenyan father and a Zimbabwean mother. Henry made his international cricketing debut in 1995, becoming the youngest player and first black cricketer to play for Zimbabwe and helping his team to its first ever Test victory.

Henry achieved international recognition (along with team mate Andy Flower) in 2003 by wearing a black armband in a Cricket World Cup match to protest against the policies of Zimbabwe’s government. Following this incident Henry had to flee Zimbabwe in fear of his life, finding refuge in England.

He has since released his debut album, Aurelia and has written his life story in his autobiography, Blood, Sweat and Treason. Henry along with his wife and daughters now live in Adelaide.

To find out more about Henry’s story, click here to watch Henry’s profile on ABC’s Lateline.

Second Chances SA Board

Back Row (L-R): Les Dennis (Secretary), Julian Grobler (Vice Chairman), Helen Glanville (CEO), Timothy Minahan (Chairman), Bob Brooks
Front Row (L-R): Krystal Gurney (Treasurer), Brenda Bates, Jayme Watson, Geoff Glanville
Not pictured: Glenn O’Rourke


Timothy Minahan

Timothy Minahan is our Chairman, bringing with him 20 years experience as a Management Quality Consultant specialising in process and information management. He has worked for State Government, and in the fields of defence, education and pharmaceutical research. In the past he has run programs within Mobilong prison and is passionate about the rehabilitation of prisoners.


Board Members

Vice Chairman – Julian Grobler
Secretary – Les Dennis
Treasurer – Krystal Gurney CA, BCom (Acc)
Members – Bob Brooks, Brenda Bates, Geoff Glanville, Glenn O’Rourke, Jayme Watson


Advisory Panel

Members – Gary Byron AM, Rev Bill Reddin, Peter Do, Paula Dickson